SSE and the Nobel Prize

Stockholm School of Economics has uniquely close ties to the Prize in Economics Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. 

The economic sciences prize committee

The Economic Sciences Prize Committee is responsible for the selection of candidates for the Prize in Economic Sciences. Per Strömberg, Professor of Finance at SSE, is currently the Chairman of the Committee for the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel. Magnus Johannesson, Professor in Economics at SSE, is member of the committee.

Per Strömberg (Chairman)

Per Strömberg (Chairman)

Professor of Finance, Stockholm School of Economics Per Strömberg is the SSE Centennial Professor of Finance and Private Equity at the Stockholm School of Economics. He is currently the holder of the Ragnar and Torsten Söderberg Professorship in Economics 2014-2018. Strömberg is currently a member of the Committee.

Magnus Johannesson (Member)

Magnus Johannesson (Member)

Professor in Economics, Stockholm School of Economics Magnus Johannesson holds the Ragnar Söderberg Chair.

Read more

Award ceremony speech 2017


Presentation Speech by Professor Per Strömberg, Member of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences, Chairman of the Nobel Committee for the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, 10 december 2017.

Read more

Nobel Discussion

SSE's annual Nobel Discussion with the laureate(s) takes place in December every year.
Our students get to meet each year's winner(s) and a discussion is held at SSE's premises.
This year's Nobel Laureate Richard H. Thaler honored us with his presence on December 12, 2017.

Риард Талер, лауреат премии Шведского национального банка по экономическим наукам памяти Альфреда Нобеля 2017 года

Nobel discussion with Nobel Laureate Richard H. Thaler, the recipient of the Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in memory of Alfred Nobel 2017.
The Nobel discussion was led by Professor Anna Dreber Almenberg.

Нобелевский лауреат Ричард Талер в окружении студентов и преподавателей в Стокгольмской школе экономики

The Nobel Laureate Richard H. Thaler surrounded by students and faculty at the Nobel discussion held on Decmeber 12, 2017 at the Stockholm School of Economics.


Ричард Талер и Президент СШЭ профессор Ларс Страннегорд

Nobel Laureate Professor Richard H. Thaler and SSE President Professor Lars Strannegård.


Обед с Нобелевским лауреатом 2017 года

Lunch with the Nobel Laureate 2017.

In recent years we have welcomed esteemed winners such as Bengt Holmström, Oliver Hart, Jean Tirol, Eugne F. Fama, Robert J. Shiller and Angus Deaton to the discussion at SSE.

The Nobel NightCap

Every four years, SSE students have the honour of organizing the official after party for the Nobel Banquet. The extravagant celebration is attended by the laureates and it happens right here at SSE.

Нобелевский Ночной колпак

The Nobel NightCap gives students, laureates and academics a chance to mingle after the Nobel Banquet. Each year’s NightCap takes on a different theme, which is kept secret until the very last minute.

The event provides an opportunity for students to organize a memorable evening packed with entertainment, fun and culinary experiences for all the distinguished guests.

Read more

Bertil Ohlin – Our very own laureate

Бертиль Олин

Bertil Ohlin was Professor of Economics at SSE between 1929 and 1965. He was awarded the Prize in Economic Sciences in 1977 for his research on international trade. With a lecture hall and a street named in his honour, his legacy remains strong.

Shortly after taking on his professorship at SSE, Ohlin published Interregional and International Trade. The book mapped out what today is known as the Heckscher-Ohlin model, and it made him a world renowned economist.

Meanwhile, Ohlin juggled his academic career with politics. He was the leader of liberal People’s Party from 1944 to 1967.

“I have found it all to be a fascinating business,” Ohlin said of his extraordinary career.

His legacy has been solidified at SSE with a lecture hall and a street named in his honour.

Read his full biography here.

Lars Strannegård's column in the Financial Times

Read Lars Strannegård's Financial Times column on the Nobel Prize, SSE and life of Alfred Nobel.

Lars Strannegård's column in the Financial Times

Read more