Word from Program Director

Dear future participants of ЕМВА program!

It is always not very easy to answer the most frequently asked question „What does your school/program differ by from similar ones?” In fact, if we compare structures of EMBA programs all of them are built on more or less standard „modules”: strategy, marketing, change management, corporate finance, marketing etc. But there are sometimes key aspects and factors that are difficult to see and that can be „felt” only if you are inside this complicated, live, changing, innovative and simultaneously fairly conservative community called the Stockholm School of Economics.

First, each of the educational modules of EMBA program does not live its own „island” life without intersections with other areas of knowledge but it is connected with them through analytical ties, bridge buildings, business cases, cross group discussion and, of course, in the framework of the final certificate program of master thesis.

Such systemic approach to education allows for development of conceptual thinking and viewing the company as a kind of a live organism in a fairly aggressive environment in order to conduct the regular diagnostics of the company through „cognitive lens” in the form of business models, concepts, approaches and tools for determination of quality of life activity of the company and to work out correct actions for maintenance of its healthy lifestyle in all aspects and long-term perspective against the background of quickly changing conditions of business environment.

At the very beginning of Anna Karenina Leo Tolstoy wrote, ”Happy families are all alike, every unhappy family is unhappy in its own way.” It is difficult to argue with the classic but it is not quite the same way in business because even if you know the success algorithm of a well-known ”happy” company and steps of its leader on this path well, it is impossible to repeat this success because it is unique. But mistakes and failures of all ”unhappy” companies are fairly standard and very ”virulent”, that is infectious, reproducible and involuntarily copied. One of the main tasks of EMBA program is learning to see these mistakes and avoid them, which will allow strengthening of a kind of ”immunity” to them, preserving personal and organizational potential and directing thereof for creation of your own unique success.

Of course, we cannot help speaking about the unique symbiosis of Swedish and Russian cultures in general and business cultures in particular in the framework of EMBA program, which yields a very creative alloy and allows for enrichment of Western theory with Russian experience and dispersing of skepticism based on a presumption that Western business approaches and models are not very useful for the Russian environment.

One of the key values of learning in the framework of School's EMBA program is creation of a group of like-minded people on the basis of two years of collective learning, the essence of which is much deeper and more durable than a slightly hackneyed term ”networking” with a flavour of certain business pragmatism. Fellowship of students and alumni of EMBA program is a real fact but it can be verified only if you become a member of this literally wonderful community called the Stockholm School of Economics.

We are looking forward to you!

Слово директора программы

Дорогие будущие участники программы ЕМВА!

Всегда очень непросто ответить на наиболее часто задаваемый вопрос: «Чем ваша школа/программа отличается от аналогичных?». Действительно, если сравнивать структуры программ ЕМВА, то все они построены из более или менее стандартных блоков: стратегия, маркетинг, управление изменениями, корпоративные финансы и проч. Но есть порой очень трудно уловимые, но ключевые аспекты и факторы, которые можно «пощупать», находясь только внутри этого сложного, живого, меняющегося, инновационного и одновременно достаточно консервативного сообщества под названием Стокгольмская Школа Экономики.

Во-первых, каждый из учебных модулей программы ЕМВА не живет своей собственной «островной» жизнью, не пересекаясь с другими областями знаний, но соединяется с ними посредством аналитических связок, заданий-мостов, бизнес-кейсов, кросс-групповых обсуждений и, конечно же, в рамках заключительного дипломного проекта — магистерской диссертации.

Подобный системный подход к обучению позволяет развивать концептуальное мышление и рассматривать компанию как некий живой организм в достаточно агрессивной среде, чтобы посредством «когнитивных линз» в виде бизнес-моделей, концепций, подходов и инструментов регулярно проводить диагностику компании для определения качества ее жизнедеятельности и вырабатывать правильные действия для поддержания ее здорового образа жизни во всех аспектах и долгосрочной перспективе на фоне быстро меняющихся условий бизнес-среды.

Лев Толстой в самом начале «Анны Карениной» писал: «Все счастливые семьи счастливы одинаково, каждая несчастливая семья несчастлива по-своему...» Трудно спорить с классиком, но в бизнесе не совсем все так, поскольку, даже зная досконально алгоритм успеха известной «счастливой» компании и шаги ее лидера на этом пути, данный успех невозможно повторить, потому что он уникален. Но вот ошибки и провалы всех «несчастливых» компаний достаточно стандартны и очень вирулентны, то есть заразны, репродуцируемы и невольно копируемы. Одна из основных задач программы ЕМВА — научиться видеть и не повторять эти ошибки, что позволит укрепить некий «иммунитет» против них, сохранить личностный и организационный потенциал и направить его для создания своего собственного уникального успеха.

Конечно же, нельзя не сказать о том уникальном симбиозе шведской и российской культур вообще и бизнес-культур особенно в рамках программы ЕМВА, что создает весьма креативный сплав и позволяет обогащать западную теорию российским опытом и развеивать скептицизм о том, что западные бизнес-подходы и модели плохо применимы на российской почве.

Одной из ключевых ценностей обучения на программе ЕМВА в Школе является создание коллектива единомышленников на базе двухлетнего совместного обучения, сущность которого намного глубже и долговечнее несколько заезженного термина networking, отдающего некой бизнес-прагматичностью. Братство одноклассников и выпускников программы ЕМВА — это реальный факт, но его можно проверить, только став членом этого, без преувеличения, замечательного сообщества — Стокгольмская Школа Экономики.

Ждем вас!